Contracting in Arizona? Here’s What You Need to Know!
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Tues., April 6, 2021
Breanna Bang, Public Information Liaison
Contracting in Arizona? Here's What You Need to Know!
PHOENIX, Ariz., (April 6, 2021) - Whether you are a licensed contractor, an unlicensed entity or a property owner, there are a few things the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (AZ ROC) wants Arizonans to know about contracting in the State of Arizona.
Who Needs To Be Licensed?
Regardless of whether an individual or company refers to themselves as a “handyman” or “contractor,” Arizona's laws about who needs a contractor's license are very clear. If the entire cost of the project, including labor and materials is over $1,000 or requires a permit by the local municipality, Arizona law requires the person or business performing the work to be licensed.
Advertisements for home repairs and remodeling services are everywhere from Facebook to Angie's List. There are two things unlicensed individuals or entities, licensed contractors and property owners need to know about advertisements.
First, in addition to not being allowed to advertise or perform any of the work required to be completed by a licensed contractor, unlicensed entities are required by Arizona law to have the exact phrase “Not a Licensed Contractor” on any and all advertisements.
Second, licensed contractors are required to list their ROC license numbers all published, advertisements, letterheads and other documents used to correspond with the licensee's customers or potential customers. The exception to that requirement is broadcasts, internet or billboard advertising if the ad includes a web address AND if the license number is prominently displayed on the website.
When hiring a licensed contractor, always check the license at www.roc.az.gov and call the phone number listed on the license to make sure the person you are negotiating with is an authorized representative of the company. AZ ROC has investigated many unlicensed complaints in which an unlicensed entity used a licensed contractor's ROC number without their permission.
Why Should You Hire A Licensed Contractor?
Residential property owners using a licensed contractor have significant protections not available to persons hiring unlicensed entities. Among them is the ability to file a complaint against the contractor's license within a two-year period from the date of occupancy or date the last work was performed. This is the Agency's jurisdiction period should work performed be below workmanship standards.
Under certain conditions, you may also be eligible to apply to the Registrar's Residential Contractors' Recovery Fund and, depending on the cost of damages, receive up to $30,000 to have the work corrected or completed.
Learn MoreIf you have questions about AZ ROC, getting a contractors license or how to check a license please visit our website at www.roc.az.gov or give us a call during normal business hours at (877)-692-9762.