

Rural Arizona Contractor's Pathway Program for the R-62 Minor Home Improvement License

Grant Application Information and Instructions

Applying for the Grant:

- 1. Who can apply for the grant? The Grant is awarded to an Individual. However, you may have one co-applicant. (All owners/members must be at least 18 years of age.)
- 2. The Grant application deadline is June 1st, 2025.
- 3. Although you apply for the Grant as an Individual, you must apply for the license as one of the following business entities: Sole Proprietorship, Partnership, LLC, or Corporation. See notes regarding entity types at the end of the instructions. The cost of setting up your company or dba is not covered by the Grant. (Note: There is no fee for creating a Sole Proprietorship. For fees on creating an LLC or Corp we suggest you visit the Arizona Corporation Commission or the Small Business Administration.)
- 4. The Grant applicant must have a business or personal address in the Cochise County zip code area, a valid ID and a Social Security Number or ITIN number.
 - You must provide at least one official document with your current address in Cochise County area (utility bills; credit card/bank statements; insurance policy; rental agreement; Drivers License.)
- 5. The applicant and co-applicant (if any) must fill out the grant application and disclose any prior felonies, contractor licenses in this state or another state, and unlicensed complaints. Once you submit the Grant application, any felonies or complaints will be reviewed by the ROC. The existence of Felonies or complaints does not automatically disqualify you from obtaining a license. Disclosure forms can be found on our website or attached to the application.
 - a. Grant Application- if applying as a single applicant click here.
 - b. Grant Application- if applying with a co-applicant click here.

Application Process

6. In the application, the Grant applicant will designate themselves or a co-applicant as the Qualifying Party (QP).



7. Once the Grant application is approved to move forward, the ROC will provide you with an ROC Licensing Rep who will be your guide through the rest of the Grant and license application process.

Statutes and Rules Exam

- 8. Once the Grant is approved to move forward, the QP will be sent a code to sign up for and take the Statutes and Rules Exam (SRE). Before moving to the next step the Qualifying Party must take and pass the SRE with a passing score of 70% or higher. The SRE is a computer-based, open book training course and exam that is only offered online. The SRE covers the statutes and rules that govern the ROC and contractors in the State of Arizona. You can do the course in sections but the final exam must be completed within 30 days of starting the course. During this 30-day period, your assigned ROC Licensing Rep will follow up every 5-7 days to ensure the QP is progressing through the course.
- 9. Once the QP passes the SRE, you will need to contact your assigned ROC Licensing Rep and they will then provide you with a link to complete background checks for you and any co-applicant.

Background Checks

10. Once the background checks have been completed, your ROC Licensing Rep will contact you for the next step.

Bond

- 11. Prior to submitting the license application you must obtain a license bond. The bond must be filled out by a Surety provider. Your ROC Licensing Rep will send you information and instructions on obtaining a bond. You will need to know what entity type and name you will want your license under: Sole Prop, LLC, Corp, Partnership. The bond must be completed correctly. The ROC Licensing Rep will review the bond and let you know if any changes are needed.
- 12. Once you have your bond you will need to contact your ROC Licensing Rep for the next step.

License Application

- 13. Your ROC Licensing Rep will email you the License application to complete, sign and submit with the bond.
- 14. Please read the information on Workers' Compensation Insurance below. If you do not meet the exemptions for Workers' Compensation, **YOU** are responsible for obtaining and paying for Workers' Compensation before the application can be approved. The Grant **does not** cover this cost.



- 15. Once your ROC Licensing Rep receives your completed and signed License application, they will proceed with the application review process. If there is anything else needed they will contact you.
- 16. Once the application is approved, the ROC Licensing Rep will email you your ROC License number and information on how to connect to the ROC Portal to access your cards and certificate and make future updates. You will also receive sign up information for the ROC's monthly Licensed Contractor Forums.

Note on Workers' Compensation:

- If you will be the sole person working under this license then you are exempt from Workers' Compensation Insurance. If at any point you decide to hire an employee you will be responsible for purchasing and paying for Workers' Compensation Insurance.
- If applying as an LLC or corporation and you are the sole 100% owner or owned 50/50 by two members/owners and one of you will also be the QP, and you will not have employees, then you are exempt from Workers' Compensation Insurance. If at any point you decide to hire an employee you will be responsible for purchasing Workers' Compensation Insurance; the Grant program does not cover this expense. You may contact the Arizona Industrial Commission for more information.

Notes on entity types you can apply under:

If applying as a Sole Proprietor (just doing business as yourself), you must have a SSN or ITIN. If you do not have a SSN but have an ITIN you must have an ID that satisfies A.R.S. § 41-1080.

If you want to set up an LLC or Corporation you will need to contact the Arizona Corporation Commission. **The Grant program does not cover the cost of forming your business entity.**

If you want to operate as a Sole Proprietorship or Partnership, you do not have to register with the Arizona Corporation Commission but you may add a DBA ("doing business as") name to your application. If so, we recommend you register the DBA with the Arizona Secretary of State, however the Grant does not cover this cost.