FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Friday, March 22, 2019
Breanna Bang, Public Information Liaison
Unlicensed Tucson Entity Found Guilty
of Contracting Without a License
PHOENIX, Ariz., (March 22, 2019) – On Thursday, March 21, 2019, Agustin Peralta, 55 of Tucson, Arizona was found guilty of Contracting Without a License, a Class 1 Misdemeanor, in the Pima County Justice Court.
Peralta was ordered to pay $7,101.50 in restitution to the victim and a $1,000 court fine.
The charges stemmed from an AZ ROC investigation which found that Peralta, dba Peralta's Appliances, was paid $30,500 by a Tucson Property owner who hired Peralta to renovate three different structures prior to a property sale. The victim discovered Peralta’s unlicensed status after the sale when the new owner reported several workmanship issues needing to be addressed. The victim ended up having to have an estimated $13,925 in work redone.
Peralta represented himself as licensed, bonded and insured. However, he has never been licensed in Arizona nor has he applied for a license.
The AZ ROC commonly receives complaints regarding unlicensed entities exploiting property owners ranging from poor work to complete abandonment. The AZ ROC reminds property owners to ask contracting professionals about the status of their license and always check the license by visiting roc.az.gov or giving the agency a call at 1-877-692-9762 (1-877-MY-AZROC).