FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Tuesday, May 4, 2021
Breanna Bang, Public Information Liaison
AZ ROC April 2021
Unlicensed Adjudication Highlights
PHOENIX, Ariz., (May 4, 2021) – Case closed on five unlicensed Arizona Registrar of Contractors (AZ ROC) investigations after they were successfully adjudicated in Bullhead City, Phoenix, Mayer and Scottsdale courts last month.
On April 15, 2021, Devon Dale Anderson, 36 of Fort Mohave pleaded guilty to Contracting Without a License, a Class 1 Misdemanor, in the Bullhead City Municipal Court.
The charge stems from a 2020 AZ ROC investigation that found Anderson contracted to remodel the inside of a manufactured steel structure in a Bullhead City home for $28,075. The homeowners planned to hire a licensed contractor, but the company declined the job. Anderson and another employee of the company, Jason Kidwell, offered to take the project as a side-job, stating Kidwell was in the process of getting his own license.
After paying $25,075 to Anderson, the homeowners filed a complaint with AZ ROC when the project dragged on and work continued to go unfinished.
The court ordered Anderson to pay $816 in fines and fees and sentenced him to 30 days in jail, which will be suspended if he obeys the terms of a 24-month unsupervised probation. No restitution was awarded in this case.
On April 14, 2021, Cristian Shomlea, 39 of Peoria, pleaded guilty to Contracting Without a License, a Class 1 Misdemeanor, in the Desert Ridge Justice Court.
The charge stems from a 2020 AZ ROC investigation that found Shomlea, DBA Granite Depot LLC, contracted to install travertine flooring, seal baseboards and door casings at a Cave Creek home for $21,318. Shomlea was paid $18,067 for the job, but before the work was complete he abandoned the job after being confronted by the homeowners about poor work and the slow pace by which it was being completed.
A restitution hearing is scheduled for 1:00 PM on May 5, 2021 in the Desert Ridge Justice Court.
On April 13, 2021, Richard Hodges, 57 of Dewey, Arizona, pleaded guilty to Contracting Without a License, a Class 1 Misdemeanor, in the Mayer Justice Court.
The charge stems from a 2020 AZ ROC investigation that found Hodges contracted to make home repairs at a Dewey home, including replacing a French door, shower door, laundry cabinet and electrical work. Hodges was paid $2,330 and started the job but abandoned the project after the homeowner confronted him about poor installation of the French door.
The Mayer Justice Court ordered Hodges to pay $2,500 in restitution to the homeowner and a $1,000 fine as part of the plea agreement.
On April 8, 2021, Gerlad Herr, 51 of Phoenix, pleaded guilty to Contracting Without a License, a Class 1 Misdemeanor, in the Dreamy Draw Justice Court.
The charge stems from a 2020 AZ ROC investigation that found Herr DBA Jerry Herr’s Handyman and Remodeling Services LLC, contracted to perform a bathroom remodel at a Phoenix home. After paying Herr $11,439 for a job that was supposed to cost $9,500, the homeowner confronted Herr about areas they believed to be poor workmanship. Herr promised to return to make repairs but he never did, leading the homeowner to file a complaint with AZ ROC.
The court ordered Herr to pay $13,895 in restitution to the homeowner and a $1,000 fine.
On April 7, 2021, Matthew Gilbert 58 of Peoria, pleaded guilty to Contracting Without a License, a Class 1 Misdemeanor, in the McDowell Mountain Justice Court.
The charge stems from a 2020 AZ ROC investigation that found Gilbert contracted to install drywall, baseboards and paint a Scottsdale home for $7,500. The homeowner filed a complaint with AZ ROC after Gilbert failed to correct issues with the paint and alleged Gilbert damaged the home’s wood floor with paint stains and scratches.
The court ordered Gilbert to pay $7,500 in restitution to the homeowner and a $1,000 fine as part of the plea agreement.
AZ ROC frequently receives complaints regarding unlicensed entities exploiting property owners ranging from poor work to complete abandonment. If hiring someone else to do the work and the entire project, including labor and materials, is over $1,000 or requires a permit by the local municipality, the company performing the work must be licensed.
AZ ROC reminds property owners to ask contractors of their license status and to check the license using the contractor search at www.roc.az.gov or giving the Agency a call at 1-877-692-9762.